h1

Design Wall Monday

June 21, 2010

Old Maid’s Puzzle is the only thing I have on the design wall this Monday. Over the weekend I decided to enlarge her. Some of the pieces were just too small to deal with. I also left the house out… for now. The size is now about 18” x 36”.

IMG_5350 I also decided to do a little experiment. I have 5 or 6 books that have methods for doing pictorial quilts. I am going to make a hat using each of those methods and then decide which method I want to use for the whole quilt.

IMG_5349

For the first hat, I used the method Sharon Schamber details in her book Piec-lique. The method uses freezer paper for templates and all of the pieces are sewn with a 1/4” seam allowance. It was a little tricky because some of the pieces were so small and there were a lot of curves. But the hat came out OK.

IMG_5348

For the second hat, I used the method Susan Carlson details in her book, Free-Style Quilts (Have you seen her Farmer’s Market series of quilts?). Ms Carlson has a very “no rules” approach to her method. Pieces are simply cut out and glued together in a layered manner. There are no seam allowances and the raw edges are left exposed. The hat above is held together only by glue. What will have to happen is when I quilt the whole thing I’ll have to be sure to stitch heavily enough to hold everything together. I don’t usually quilt so heavily, but I’m trying to keep an open mind because I really did enjoy the assembly method.  Easy-peasy!!

Next I’m going to work with Cynthia England’s method from her book, Picture Piecing.

2 comments

  1. amazing how many different ways there are to make that hat.


  2. The hat looks great! I have the book Freestyle Quilts (whole lotta fish in there) but haven't seen the other one. I like the house; it's balancing, grounding.



Leave a Reply

