h1

Old Maid’s Puzzle

June 16, 2010

I managed to put together a hat for the Old Maid last weekend.

IMG_5336

This was a very difficult step for me. It was not so much that the physical doing of it was difficult but that it was difficult getting past those voices arguing in my head.

“You can’t do this. You’ve never done anything like it before. This is way out of your league!”

“No I haven’t done anything like this but I’ll just take it one step at a time and learn.”

“It’s a waste of time. Just toss it all in the trash and do something you know how to do.”

Well, it did almost end up in the trash a couple times but not quite. One of those voices was a little bit stronger. And with this victory that voice is even stronger this week.

There are three main quilt artists that I have studied over the years that do work like this. I admire all three greatly. Here are the three and books of theirs that I have studied.

Joan Colvin, Nature’s Studio

Ruth B. McDowell, Piecing

Cynthia England, Picture Piecing

They are all great books and deserve to be read repeatedly.

4 comments

  1. I'm glad you recognized that inner voice (the strong one). You know it's there, just lying in wait to surface when you need it most. You impress me so.


  2. So glad you chose to ignore those pesky negatives!


  3. I have to say that when I hear those voices, which is frequently, my response is, "suck it up and get going!"


  4. Oh, I forgot to add that the "good" voice also tells me to have some faith in myself:) Should I be worried about hearing voices???



Leave a Reply

