h1

Warm Winter Cheer

April 19, 2010

I have almost three rows of Warm Winter Cheer finished.

IMG_5210

When I was in college one of my drawing professors always emphasized, “Bring the whole drawing up together!” By that he meant to never let one area of the drawing to get to a more advanced stage of completion than the rest of the drawing; keep the whole drawing at the same stage of completion.

IMG_5210-1

So, applying that to quilting I suppose that means I should make all the blocks before assembling any of the blocks with the sashing. That way the whole quilt would be brought up together.

I always feel a little guilty because I don’t work that way. I like to go ahead and finish a little bit of the quilt ahead of time so that I can see that all of the colors I’m using in the blocks looks good with the colors in the sashing and borders and that everything is working together.

But I also think a little bit of it comes from the fact that I get terribly bored with making the same blocks over and over so I jump ahead! But I’m at the point now where I need to just start cranking out those blocks, bored or not!

5 comments

  1. very cute blocks.kathie L.


  2. I have the same problem, I get bored doing the same thing over and over again. I think that's why I work on 2-3 projects at the same time as well as 1-3 BOMs. I need variety.


  3. That is an interesting concept of how to work on a piece of art. I'll have to think about that some more. Having just finished a quilt which I think looks like it was made in 3 chunks, at 3 different times and is not well integrated… maybe that is the reason why? Thanks for the food for thought!


  4. Love the blocks! glen


  5. This is beautiful! Thank you for sharing your wonderful blog. Check out the American Quilter's Society blog at: http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com/Keep up the beautiful quilting!



Leave a Reply

