h1

Journal

March 5, 2010

Debby over at These are pieces, too wrote yesterday about her journal in which she keeps pertinent quotes, lists and so forth. It has a wonderful quilt design on the cover too. I also keep a journal like that.

One of the main things I make notes of in my journal is new words that I’ve learned and their meanings. I read a lot and am always coming across words with which I’m not familiar. I’ve found that if I write the words down I am more likely to remember them in the future. A few of the words I have notes on are:

ebullience- the quality of lively or enthusiastic expression of thoughts or feeling

aplomb- complete and confident composure or self-assurance.

delphioracle– ambiguous, obscure <<< that is a particularly good definition of that word!! LOL!

I also make notes of passages from books that I particularly like. From Dickens’ Hard Times:

“Yes, I do wish that I had never had a family, and then you would have known what it was to do without me!”

and

“Stephen looked older, but he had had a hard life. It is said that every life has its roses and thorns; there seemed, however, to have been a misadventure or mistake in Stephen’s case, whereby somebody else had become possessed of his roses and he had become possessed of the same somebody else’s thorns in addition to his own.”

From Asimov’s The End of Eternity:

“The guilty fleeth when no man persueth.”

and:

“There was someone to talk to, someone with whom to discuss his life, his deeds and thoughts. It was as though she were a portion of himself, but a portion sufficiently separate to require speech in communication rather than thought. She was a portion sufficiently separate to be able to answer unpredictably out of independent thought processes.”

and one more:

“It is in meeting the great tests that mankind can most successfully rise to great heights. Any system like Eternity which allows men to choose their own future, will end by choosing safety and mediocrity and in such a reality the stars are out of reach.”

I could go on and on all morning but I’ll cut it short right here and wish you a very pleasant day…

2 comments

  1. What a thought-pprovoking and insightful post! Thank you THANK YOU!


  2. Great quotes so thanks:)I have a little notebook too (just a spiral one from the drugstore). I write all sorts of stuff in there. Sometimes I go back and look and wonder, "huh?"



Leave a Reply

