h1

Irish Star

February 11, 2010

This is a design I’ve been working on for a bed quilt for my guest room.

Irish Star

It combines an Eight Point Star and a Triple Irish Chain. In the guest room I also hang all of my “antique-ish” quilts that my grandmothers made during the 1930s and 1940s. I want the bed quilt to be more contemporary looking but to blend with the older quilts.

For the fabrics I am thinking of a scrappy combination of fabrics, except for the background, in the colors shown. The background would all be one fabric.

I’m not sure I’m happy with it yet though. What do y’all think? Any suggestions? Thanks!

7 comments

  1. I think it's pretty. The two designs combine beautifully, but man, that will be a challenging quilt!Have you tried changing the values in one of the blocks so that they're not the same? If the colors in the chain were lighter, that block wouldn't be as strong an element and the star would stand out more. At least I think so. Nice thing about the computer program is you can try, right?


  2. I think it will be beautiful and will keep you very busy!


  3. I think you need your head examined! LOL!


  4. It will be a spectacular quilt. I agree with Kay about making the chain blocks lighter so that the stars will stand out more. Or, you could go with prints in the chains and more solid reading fabrics in the stars to make them pop.


  5. It will be gorgeous. I love the 8 pt stars.


  6. It is lovely but I feel like I would have to check in to the insane asylum afterwards! You could do it though-I will just watch:)


  7. how lucky your guests will be to sleep under such a pretty quilt.



Leave a Reply

