h1

Adding Dimension to Your Quilt: The Ruffler

January 23, 2010

IMG_4942 

The ruffler is a great little attachment I have for my sewing machine that makes ruffling fabric a breeze. The ruffler looks somewhat complicated, takes some effort to figure out and get used to and it can be pricey but, believe me, it is worth it. A ruffler is the easiest way to get the best ruffle.

I have a Husqvarna Viking sewing machine so I bought the Husqvarna ruffler to go with it. The different brands of rufflers probably are slightly different and have some variations so I want to make it clear that I am talking about the Husqvarna ruffler here.

IMG_4943 

To attach the ruffler to my machine I first remove the presser foot and ankle by unscrewing the ankle screw. I keep this screw finger tight so l won’t need a screwdriver but if it were too tight I’d use the screwdriver that came with my machine.

IMG_4949

As I slide the ruffler into position I make sure the fork-shaped part slides over the needle clamp screw at the top. Once the ruffler is in position I replace the ankle screw to hold the ruffler in place.

Very Important: Only the straight stitch can be used with the ruffler. There is only a small hole for the needle to go through which could mean  major damage for the machine if the wrong stitch were selected. I double check to make sure I am using a straight stitch.

IMG_4951

The fabric is inserted from the left into the ruffler between the two plates at the bottom. The fabric must always move away from me through the ruffler; pulling it toward me could damage the ruffler.

IMG_4947

And finally,  I lower the presser foot and sew! Slow and steady yields the best results. What could be an easier way to get perfect ruffles? All of the gathers are evenly spaced and of the same depth which gives a consistent, professional  look to the gathers.

IMG_4948

Next time I will take a look at how to vary the density and depth of gathers with the ruffler.

3 comments

  1. In the past I have used my ruffler for many applications. One thing I have found helpful is to make a few samples with the various settings & write the settings directly on the ruffle as a reference. It is smart to measure the length of fabric first and then do the ruffle to see how much ruffle is made so you get the correct fabric : ruffle ratio (such as 2, 2.5 or 3). You can add this information to your sample piece. You do not want to be in the middle of a ruffle and run out of fabric! And, believe me, you will not remember the next time you sit down to make ruffles.


  2. OMG Deb! I'd never heard of a ruffler so you might imagine my utter delight in seeing yours and learning all about it. Can you believe I did all that ruffle gathering on my infant daughter's quilt all by hand 10 years ago? I'm definitely going to be looking into acquiring a ruffler for myself. Thanks SO much!


  3. I have one of those for my Singer treadle machine. And since it is a Singer, it also fits my Featherweight. I've used it once or twice. They DO make beautiful ruffles.



Leave a Reply

