h1

Eye Candy

October 1, 2009

I have some eye candy to share with you, but first I want to post a link to an interesting news article I read.

In studying the History of Art I’ve always wondered why it is so many of the Masters were so disturbed, or disturbing (Van Gogh, Picasso, and others). Is the disturbing aspect what made them Masters or did being a Master make them disturbing? Or is it just that their disturbing work creates more interest in the public and so they became more well known? I think that a lot of it has to do with an intense ability to focus on an idea and bring it to completion. But is the disturbing aspect an integral part of it all?

Well, I read this article in The Telegraph yesterday that suggests that there is a gene that relates to both genius and madness. The gene, which is called neuregulin 1, plays a role in brain development but a variant of it is also associated with mental illnesses like schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. So that may explain the relationship somewhat. I just find that interesting.

Now on to the Eye Candy!

This is the quilt I am quilting right now. It is an exciting quilt full of color and pizzazz:

IMG_4703

IMG_4704

IMG_4699

8 comments

  1. Although not disturbed, this is still beautiful. 😉


  2. A long time ago I took an art class and decided that the reason I couldn't make provocative art was that I was basically OK and life was good to me. It seemed like (at the time) all the art being made was full of angst and anger. I know that isn't always true but I think the artfield gathers its amount of nutcases.


  3. Well then I should be a well known artist by now! LOL!


  4. interesting idea.The quilt looks great!


  5. Beautiful quilt, great quilting – love your feathers!


  6. I guess I can never be a true artiste'! I am not surprised that there may be a link like that-I think most things are interconnected in some way like that, ways that science will eventually discover.Great quilting designs too-gives me ideas for my own quilting:)


  7. What a lovely quilt you're working on! Thanks for sharing the photo. My brother has that gene. He's extremely talented, has a genius IQ, taught himself 9 languages (whereas I only speak 4) and is schizophrenic, paranoid type, and suffers from OCD.


  8. I have long believed that there is a very fine line between madness and genius. Those wonky feathers are exquisite!



Leave a Reply

