h1

Elmer’s Glue

August 28, 2009

Someone asked how I prepare my Elmer’s Glue bottles with a smaller spout. It is very simple and here is how I do that…

Supplies and tools:

IMG_4584-1

Elmer’s Washable Glue; any size bottle will work.

IMG_4585

Papermate mechanical pencils, 0.7 lead; only one pencil is needed per glue bottle.

IMG_4586

Sharp scissors.

________________________________________

The process:

IMG_4587

Remove the orange cap from the Elmer’s Glue bottle. It twists off and then takes a little jerk to to get it off.

IMG_4588

With the scissors cut off about 1/16” of the top of the orange cap. You don’t need to cut off much but you just need to make the hole a little larger.

IMG_4597-1

Next, remove the black tip from one mechanical pencil. It easily screws off.

IMG_4599

Take the black tip and push it into the orange cap so it is tight inside the cap.

IMG_4600-1

Replace the cap on the bottle.

The bottle will not close now. I’ve heard that some will use a knitting needle cap to cover the top when not in use. I just leave it open. The glue in the cap dries and I use a pin to open it up when I’m ready to use it.

I use the glue to baste seams before sewing, to baste bindings in place and to hold appliqué pieces in place before sewing. The glue washes right out in the first washing.

IMG_4600

Back to school sales are a good time to stock up on Elmer’s Glue. Between my sewing and the kids’ crafting we can never have too much glue!

Happy Gluing… I mean Sewing!!

6 comments

  1. This is exactly the way I do it. I love my glue!


  2. Thank you, thank you! I couldn't access the first tutorial about this, and tried it on my own with disastrous results. Actually though, the regular spout works ok, for bindings, at least.


  3. What an excellent tutorial! I just loved it, thank you! Since I don't sew much, I would never have thought of this on my own.


  4. Good ol' Elmers! I once glued a broken plate together with it and it held forever! Even in the dishwasher. Amazing.


  5. what a great idea!!! thank you for sharing!i completely agree with your previous post about how mistakes jump out at you when you see a photo of your work. this happens to me, too. sometimes i'll be so excited to see a photo of my most recent creation only to notice a mistake that i hadn't noticed before! what's up with that?! :)rachel


  6. Thank you for the tutorial. It was very clear, and I just used it with great success!!



Leave a Reply

