h1

Paseo del Rio

August 12, 2009

I got to spend a little time with my camera at the San Antonio River Walk this week. Here are some of the random photos that I took and random thoughts that I had:

I have a little bit of a shady area in my yard where I’m having trouble getting anything to grow. So I took some photos of plants growing in the shade that I thought might do well in my yard.

IMG_4542

IMG_4543IMG_4559 

The River Walk has lots of shady areas for a couple of reasons. The river is actually below street level with tall buildings on both sides, as though it were in a canyon. That reduces the amount of sunshine to reach the bottom. Also the trees grow really well along the river. It is one of the few places in Texas that actually has water.

IMG_4566-1

IMG_4572

IMG_4569

The blue glasses with these table settings caught my eye.

IMG_4560

I took a lot of pictures of stairways…

IMG_4577

IMG_4546

IMG_4547

and pictures of tourists enjoying the day…IMG_4549

IMG_4550

IMG_4557

It was a pleasant morning and I came home refreshed even though temperatures were over 100 degrees.

4 comments

  1. Deb-Thanks for the photos. I was in San Antonio several years ago for work training and I went to the River Walk area at night. It was really lovely. I thought the whole setup was pretty neat so thanks for reminding me:)


  2. That's it! It's settled. I'm coming to San Antonio and you and I are "doing" lunch. Be there. Tell no one. I'll be the one in the trench coat with the red carnation on my lapel.


  3. Ginger grows pretty well in the shade and it's pretty tolerant too.The riverwalk always looks so peaceful and lush.


  4. These are all great, but I like the stairway shots the best.



Leave a Reply

