h1

Dressed for Dinner: Progress

June 7, 2009

I’m almost done with the last appliqué block on my Dressed for Dinner quilt. It is the most detailed of all the blocks. It is currently about half done. This photo shows all of the pieces in place but some still need to be stitched down.

IMG_4406

Meanwhile with the top half of the quilt hanging on the design wall I’ve been thinking of quilting ideas. Here are a few of the thoughts that I have sketched out.

IMG_4402

For the corn block I am thinking of stitching corn plants surrounding the appliquéd plant. Corn is a very social plant and one plant does not do well by itself so I may fill the block with quilted plants to keep it company. I’ve also sketched simple stitch-in-the-ditch and X’s in the blocks and half square triangles.

IMG_4403

Wavy lines represent steam in the pie block. And the wavy lines turned horizontal represent the wood grain of a table.

IMG_4404

An occasional leaf swirling down, overlapping different blocks, as leaves tend to do.

IMG_4405

And finally, some kind of heart meander around the heart block.

I have been thinking about which batting to use also. I am leaning toward using wool. Kay used Quilter’s Dream Wool on her Peppermint Stars quilt and it was absolutely luxurious. The finished quilt was so soft and puffy. 

So I have a little less than 6 months until my deadline for this quilt, Thanksgiving. I may make it…

7 comments

  1. Your quilting ideas and sketches are breath taking. What a lovely set of ideas! So appropriate!


  2. That is going to be beautiful!


  3. Your ideas are spot on with the quilting!


  4. Clever idea drawing the quilting designs on tracing paper. This is going to be one heckuva quilt!


  5. Great ideas Deb. I especially like the corn block quilting.Thanks for the encouragement on my latest quilt.I haven't forgotten the fusible web post. I'll try to get it done in the next couple of days. I have been pretty sick, but am better now!


  6. What a fun quilt, it's really going to be beautiful.


  7. I love the social corn!By the way, I have machine envy. I read your earlier post about your new friend:)



Leave a Reply

