h1

Quilt Inspiration; A Soldier’s Quilt

June 3, 2009

I was just playing around with Electric Quilt this morning and came up with this design. I think that it would make a nice quilt for a soldier.

California

Barbara Brackman calls the block design California in her Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns. It was first published in a syndicated mail-order column called Nancy Page, which appeared in many periodicals in the late 1920’s to the 1940’s.

I think that it would be nice quilted with Jodi Beamish’s panto Stars and Loops.

SimpleStars&LoopsLG

Too bad making a real quilt isn’t as quick and easy as designing in EQ!!

3 comments

  1. Oh my word Deb, I adore your color choices and quilting design you've chosen for this quilt. Those quilted stars would be perfect! You have quite an eye.


  2. It would make a great QOV. I usually think about RWB versions of quilts I make too.


  3. I am partial to it already, for obvious reasons. You know, I played around with the blocks on that qov you quilted and thought about changing it to this. But was afraid the quilt police would come get me. This is gorgeous!



Leave a Reply

