h1

Fusible Web

June 1, 2009

During the month of June, Quilt Studio is calling for posts on fusible web. I hope some of you out there have a lot to contribute on this subject. Fusible web is a neat product that can really open up design possibilities. But I’ve not explored the product enough to really know how to use it well. I will share what I have done with it though.

shapes-1q

This journal quilt came from a series I worked on in 2006 as a result of a challenge at Quilt Studio. It was called the Journal Quilt Challenge and the parameters were to do one piece per month at a size of 8 1/2” x 11” all with a common theme. The theme I chose was images of houses in the Historic district in my hometown in Indiana.

shapes-2

At that time I preferred piecing to appliqué so the foundation of this green and yellow design is pieced. I found that some of the pieces were so small though I could not piece them. The shutters on the house were particularly troublesome.  Traditional appliqué didn’t work because turning under the edges was was so difficult and left the small pieces with a big bulge. Fusible web was the perfect solution to the problem. I ironed the web to the fabric, cut out the shaped I needed and fused them in place on the foundation.

shapes-3 

After I fused the pieces down I then quilted over the whole thing. I did not specifically try to quilt over the fused edges of the fabric but mostly just meandered over the pieces.

This journal quilt hangs on the wall in my studio so it doesn’t get any handling; it has never been washed. All of the edges of the fused pieces are still fused in place and it looks as good as it did the day I made it.

As you can see, my experience with fusible web is very limited. I am looking forward to reading about others’ experiences with fusible web. I have a lot to learn about it!

Related posts:

JQC 2006: February

One comment

  1. I think this is a great idea! I’ve never use fusible web and would love to hear more from those who have. Your houses turned out lovely. Love the colors.



Leave a Reply

