h1

And the Saga continues…

May 20, 2009

I got word yesterday that Etha, my Viking sewing machine, needs a new motor in addition to the work already quoted. Ouch!. That is not good news.

IMG_2893

There must be a line where it no longer makes sense to keep investing in an old machine and it does make sense to get a newer, if not new, one. I feel like I must be close to that line and I’m trying to decide what to do. Have you got any advice?

IMG_4370

In the meantime, my very good friend Karen loaned me her White Quilter’s Machine. It is actually a very nice little machine. Now let me point out that I would not recommend it for 8 hour sewing days, 5 days a week. I don’t believe it is that kind of work horse. But it looks like a great little machine for taking to retreats, carrying to classes and loaning to poor friends that find themselves in need of a sewing machine.

IMG_4371

One of the features that I really like about it is that when you open it up part of the carrying case becomes the work table. I like to see resourcefulness like that in a product.

The controls are all very easy to understand and easy to use. It was easy to wind a bobbin and thread the machine. It has a variety of stitches and the needed stitch length and width controls. It has a start/stop button if you prefer that over using the foot pedal. And it also has a stitch speed control which I had fun playing with.

It is going to be a great little machine to get me through this saga. Thank you so much Karen!!

2 comments

  1. It sounds like you need a new machine–or at least a newer machine. I hate to make decisions like this when I have to make them. I prefer to make them when I can take my time and don’t have to rush. Don’t quote me but I think the life expectancy of a machine is around 15 years. (and it could be less on the computerized ones)


  2. I would say it depends on how much you love your old machine. When my Bernina 1260 went into the shop I decided I needed a new machine so I would have the 1260 for back up. I bought a new machine for over$1100.00. I ended up not liking it at all. I took it back & traded up for a more expensive machine. Didn't like it either. Preferred the old Bernina. Ended up selling the new machine & bought 2 more 1260's on Ebay. I love my machines. I keep 2 set up in my studio, & 1 in the case for travel.



Leave a Reply

