h1

Time for Retirement?

May 12, 2009

IMG_2893

I had to take the Viking, I call her Etha, in for some repair work yesterday. My poor baby, sniff, sniff! She has just been having trouble turning on and straightening up in the morning. (who of us doesn’t?) Of course, she is 13 years old. Let’s see, what would that be in human years… maybe 52? She’s probably thinking of retirement.

Patty, of Patty’s Sewing Center, promptly tried to talk me into a new machine.  No good shop owner would miss that opportunity. She started listing all of the wonderful benefits of their top of the line machine, half of which I had no idea what she was talking about. But the thought of a new machine that could solve all of my problems, if not all of the world’s problems, was enticing.

“I really don’t need 150 different stitches though. Do you have one that just has a straight stitch and a zig-zag stitch?”

Her face fell as she directed me over to the bottom of the line, mechanical model. Well, it looked like a good machine, but not being computerized it was laid out different than Etha and all of the controls were unfamiliar to me. I thought to myself, “I really don’t want to have to learn how to use a new machine.” And when I learned the price, nearly twice as much as what I paid for Etha 13 years ago, it was an easy decision to just get Etha repaired.

Sorry Etha, no retirement yet! Hurry home as there is work to be done!

5 comments

  1. Deb – kudos to you for sticking with Etha and demonstrating your solidarity! My little Kenmore is 32 years old and I’m ashamed to to admit that I’ve never had it serviced. I just blow out the dust bunnies with a can of compressed air every now and then. Good for you!


  2. I agree. Do you really need 8 million stitches that you will probably never use ever? We quilters should design a macine with the stitches we need like a perfect 1/4 inch stitch with the matching foot and so on.


  3. Old machines never die–you pass them on to your kids! My Elna is now living at Brent’s house and I am proud to say he uses it. It’s a tough call–eventually the computerized machines do give up.


  4. I love my old machines. I loved mine so much I ended up with 3 of the same model! Never trade in. Keep the old one, maybe buy a new one if you really need it. Mechanical is easy. I bet you would catch on to it. What’s your longarm. It must be mechanical.


  5. Lucky Etha … like the energizer bunny … chuckle!TTFN ~ Marydonblushingroseboutique.blogspot.com



Leave a Reply

