h1

Add Dimension to your Quilt with Shirring; A Pineapple

April 28, 2009

IMG_4335

While playing around with shirring and trying to figure out a way I could incorporate the technique into a quilt I was also looking at my next block for my Dressed for Dinner quilt. I realized that the pineapple in that next block could use some dimension.

I had a photo of a pineapple that I kept in front of me as inspiration and I had the layout sketch from the instruction packet for the Dressed for Dinner kit.

pineapple

IMG_4330

IMG_4331So I cut a block of fabric 1 1/2 times larger than the layout size for slight fullness. I sketched lines in a diamond pattern on the fabric.

IMG_4333

I gathered the fabric first one direction and then the other direction. I stabilized the gathering by stitching it to an interfacing and then I turned the edges.

IMG_4335

And it is ready to appliqué to my block. I am anxious to see how it looks with all of the other images in the block. There are a few pieces that must overlay over the pineapple. It will be interesting to see how that works.

Have you thought of any ways to use shirring in a quilt? Please tell us about it in the comment section if you have!

Related Posts:

Add Dimension to Your Quilt With Shirring; the Basics

Add Dimension to Your Quilt With Shirring; Stabilizing

Add Dimension to Your Quilt with Shirring; An Example

4 comments

  1. Deb, this is an ingenius application of shirring! Your pineapple turned out wonderfully. I have a special place in my heart for pineapples, and as you may know, in Virginia the pineapple is the statewide symbol for “welcome”. After all, “To be a Virginian either by birth, marriage, adoption, or even on one’s mother’s side, is an introduction to any state in the union, a passport to any foreign country, and a benediction from above.”


  2. Very cool!


  3. What a great idea. I have a work in progress that this would really enhance.


  4. That’s very clever!



Leave a Reply

