h1

Multi-Generational Eye Candy

April 14, 2009

RK 1

My good friend RK recently finished this multi-generational quilt. It is a beauty!

RK’s grandmother started the piecing of the quilt. After she passed away RK’s mother finished up the piecing and started the hand quilting. After she passed away RK took up the needle and finally finished it.

RK 2

The Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns lists that pattern as Katie’s Choice . It was first published in Farm Journal in February of 1945. The sashing though is what really makes this quilt interesting. RK’s grandmother must have been a great quilter to have attempted such an involved sashing.

Way to go, RK!! I can’t wait to see it in person and wrap myself in it!

7 comments

  1. Beautiful quilt and wonderful story!


  2. I agree with Vicki!


  3. Me three. (agree with Vicki and Debra) Anyone else? Anyone? Anyone? (Ferris Bueler’s Day Off)


  4. Oh, my! What a beauty! Someone is going to be very lucky to get this.


  5. And to think, three generations who actually hand quilt! That’s the most amazing part to me.


  6. Lovely! And you’re so right about the sashing. It would be easy (relatively) to figure that out now, but before so many patterns and computers, much harder.


  7. I just wanted to say thank you to all of the ladies for their kind comments. As my friend knows I am not a quilter. It is because of her friendship and detailed instructions that I was able to finish this quilt. Had it not been for her it may have gone unfinished forever……..so to you my friend, Thank You! RK



Leave a Reply

