h1

WIP Wednesday

January 7, 2009

I’ve been moving right along with the next block on the Dressed for Dinner quilt. The Little Chick block was a fairly simple block to applique and is ready for some hand embroidery. The legs and the beak will be embroidered.


One of the things I have learned to do as I applique is to get all of the pieces ready for applique, tack them in place on the background with some washable glue and hang it up on the design wall for a few days. During this time I will usually find one or two fabrics that I don’t like; the red is too bright, or there is too much purple or something else. At that point it is a simple matter of changing out the offending fabric for another and confirming that the new one works better. Only then will I begin sewing the pieces in place. I find this saves me a lot of frustration in the long run.

Leave a Reply

