h1

Crumpling

November 19, 2008

I’ve been playing around with different techniques that add a third dimesion to quilts. Here is one that I was working on yesterday. I’m calling it crumpling. I don’t know if there is an “official” term for it. I’d like to know if you know of another name for it.

crumoling1q.jpg

It was very simple to do. I cut out a circle of fabric about twice the size that I wanted the finished circle to be. I gathered the edge of the circle by my favorite method which is by zig-zagging over a thread which can then be pulled to gather.

crumpling2q.jpg

I gathered the edge in until it was the size I wanted it to be and sewed it in place on my foundation fabric. This left a puffy dome in the middle.

crumpling3q.jpg

I crumpled the dome down in the middle and hand tacked it in place. Then I went around the circle, pushing an area down and tacking in place and then on to another area and tacking it down in place. I was able to rearrange the valleys and hills as I wanted before tacking them.

crumpling5q.jpg

As you can see from this photo, I should have turned under, or finished in some way the edges of the circle before I sewed it in place. But it worked OK for this experiment.

I imagine that this would work for other shapes as well; squares, triangles or even organic shapes. It adds some dimension to the fabric along with shadows, highlights and interesting texture.

Leave a Reply

