h1

Jane Eyre

May 17, 2008

What have I been doing lately? One thing is that I am reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. WOW! What a good read. The story line is good but what I really love about it is the vocabulary. Ms Bronte has such a command of words. She uses very descriptive words so that there is no misunderstanding what her meaning is. She uses words such as lugubrious, confabulation, imposing, phlegmatic and pith.

OK, so a few of them I had to look up in the dictionary to see what the meaning was, but once I read the definition there was no misunderstanding! 🙂

I’m only half way through Jane Eyre but already I can tell that I will be reading it again.

6 comments

  1. It’s one of my favorite books!


  2. This is one of my favorite books too, and I’ve been thinking about looking for an ipod download of it so that I can listen to it when I walk, garden or knit. I’m listening to my second Jane Austen novel this way, which I got as a free down load from Librivox


  3. Jane Eyre is one of those that you can read over and over. You may enjoy “The Wide Sargasso Sea” I can’t recall who wrote it but it’s about the mad wife in the attic.


  4. I’m another lover of this book; enjoy. I liked Charlotte Bronte’s other books too; they’re not as well known but interesting.


  5. I have heard this from everyone who has read Jane Eyre. I need to read this book!

    Keep that dictionary nearby!


  6. How pretty! I could see the quilting…it is harder for me to actually sew that black material!



Leave a Reply

