h1

Antique Stars is Finished!!

February 12, 2008

What a good feeling; to finish up a project! And here are some photos:

img_3169.jpg

As with every project I learned a lot with this one. Mainly I learned that a white on white background is beautiful but it presents some problems. Obviously, it is very difficult to keep a white background clean while working on it. But not so obvious is that the seams running through the white areas show up more than I would like. Also, I used some of the colored fabrics on the back and they do show through slightly. So a white quilt should also have a white back. I will think very carefully before committing to another white background.

img_3171.jpg
img_3174.jpg

The freehand quilting is a new technique that I learned from Dawn Ramirez’ DVD Pajama Quilter Reloaded. I had seriously thought that I would never be able to do freehand feathers like this but after watching her DVD and practicing a while I am able to do it! And it is so much fun! DVDs are a good way for me to learn. I like being able to pause and rewind and watch it again.

I took Antique Stars to my LQS to be put on display for a while and after that it will take up residency on my daughter’s bed.

Now it is time for me to turn my attention to the next project…


12 comments

  1. It’s beautiful Deb!


  2. Gorgeous! Absolutely top-notch Deb! I wish I could see it in person. I really like the whimsical polka-dot fabric you chose.


  3. I second Rian’s comments about the polka dots, and the whole things is lovely. Only you see those seams!


  4. Wonderful! I like your mix of contemporary and traditional fabrics … and the quilting pattern is outstanding.


  5. It really is beautiful! Love the fabrics, the design, the quilting~


  6. Looks fantastic!


  7. What a lovely quilt. I’m sure your daughter will cherish it.


  8. Your Antique Stars is so beautiful, both the piecing and the quilting. And Mr. Turkey is adorable, look forward to watching your progress on this hand appliqued quilt.


  9. Beautiful Deb! You’ve got the feathers down pat!


  10. Very pretty and I know Christine will love it because you made it for her!


  11. that polka dot fabric is fantastic and the quilting is, (what else) gorgeous! That’s going to be well loved.


  12. You did a beautiful job on the quilt. I suspect you will get lots of interest with it hanging in the LQS.



Leave a Reply

