h1

Mahalo

January 17, 2008

My father-in-law did some consulting work with a company in Hawaii about 10 years ago. As a thank you, or Mahalo, they gave him this Hawaiian quilt block framed under glass.

img_3074-1.jpg
_

Isn’t it beautiful?! The block is hand appliquéd and hand quilted. I believe that the block depicts breadfruit.

img_3075.jpg
_

Look at all that tiny hand work. How were all those edges turned under so smoothly without losing the shapes? Clearly it is the work of a Master.

8 comments

  1. It is beautiful. We had a program at guild by someone who learned Hawaiian quilting when her husband was stationed there. She took lessons from a local woman. Apparently the designs are very traditional and innovation isn’t exactly welcomed. Very interesting story.


  2. Beautiful . . . another technique I’d like to try one day *s*


  3. It’s lovely. Another thing to add to the list of “someday.”


  4. They use needle turn and lots of basting…My mom did a lot of Hawaiian quilting…I saw a lovely HUGE quilt in Hawaii last year…pretty amazing!


  5. It is gorgeous. I did a Hawaiian block once, for a gift for someone who let us use her condo on Maui. It didn’t turn out very well and Ithink that was the last time I ever did any hand sewing!

    You are right, that is breadfruit.


  6. Always intriguing to me; never done! I guess I am in good company here.


  7. It’s beautiful, I plan to do a single block one of these days just to have tried the technique. I love how this one is framed.


  8. Looks great..you’ll do beautifully!!



Leave a Reply

