h1

Sunbonnet Sam

January 15, 2008

ssam4q.jpg

I quilted this quilt last November for a gentleman that had received the quilt top on the occasion of his birth; 75 years ago. He was very happy with the quilt and sent this poem back to me.

The Saga of Sunbonnet Sam

Sunbonnet Sam is quite a guy.

He’s kind of bold and kind of shy.

He’ll kiss the girls and make them cry.

 

Then hide behind that big old hat

And say, “Oh no, I didn”t do that!”

“Maybe it was the Cheshire Cat.”

 

And then he’ll smile, and then he’ll say;

“Might have been that kid in the hay.”

“Little Boy Blue who loves to play.”

 

“How about Jack who rolls down hills?”

“He might kiss a girl for a thrill.”

“If not him, I don’t know who will.”

 

“But don’t blame me just cause I’m here.”

His hat pulled down over his ears;

No one can see the smile that’s there.

 

Girls talk it over, then agree,

It wasn’t all that bad, so you see,

Didn’t have to steal; could’a got one free.

 

Paul K. Dugan

9 comments

  1. cute.


  2. I believe you are developing quite a market of quilting old quilts. There should be a demand if people would clean out their closets.


  3. What a sweet story. It must feel good to have completed this for him, and great that he’s happy too.


  4. What a great job on the quilt. And the poem is wonderful. How neat for him to send it to you!


  5. What a wonderful poem! When I first saw the quilt as the page was loading, I have to admit I was a little perplexed at such an old-fashioned-looking quilt being done today. I know Sunbonnets are still being done, but this one really looked OLD! Now I know why…what a heartwarming story. Ol Mr. Dugan must have been quite a ladies man in his day. I’m glad he finally has his quilt to comfort and warm him in his golden years.


  6. that’s so sweet. How great that you could make him happy.
    Thanks for the link you sent me. I had no idea!


  7. That’s just wonderful.


  8. How cute, your quilting looks wonderful on this.


  9. What a gem! The quilt, the poem, and the man!



Leave a Reply

