h1

Manipulating Fabric Monthly

January 4, 2008

My first task for my Manipulating Fabric Monthly series was to decide how to divide up the book to spread it over 12 months. Looking at the table of contents I was pleasantly surprised to find that it has 12 chapters with techniques in them. Hey! That was easy. There is a 13th chapter but it only has tips and ideas on combining the techniques in the previous chapters. So I’ll probably read through it and get ideas later when I have a few of the techniques under my belt.

282.jpg

Chapter 1 is on gathering. There are sections on single-edge gathering, opposite-edge gathering and all-sides gathering. I’m going to include all three of these types of gathering in my first piece. These should be fun techniques to play with as they include yo-yos, furrowing, ruffles and puffs.

Unfortunately, I cannot post any pictures of my progress so far as I have not loaded any photo software on my new computer yet. So I am not able to edit and size photos for posting. So the cute little ruffled Victorian piece will have to serve for visual support today.

6 comments

  1. A bit of a teaser, don’t you think?


  2. This will be interesting. I know about these techniques from garment sewing, but I don’t know how they fit into quilt blocks exactly, so I’m looking forward to seeing what you make. The texture they produce should be beautiful. It could be combined with embroidery too, couldn’t it? (Don’t you need another project :)?)


  3. Can’t wait to see the pictures!


  4. Your goals for 2008 look interesting, esp. that River Walk quilt. I’ve looked longingly at the Manipulating Fabric book for a few years and still not purchased it so it will be fun to see what you come up with. Happy quilting in 2008!


  5. Been there, done that…many years ago. But I feel for ya!


  6. where can I sign up for the monthly newletter? I love this technique, altho I have never done any so far.



Leave a Reply

