h1

Debbie Does Domestics

November 7, 2007

I have never claimed to be Heloise but I do try to run an efficient home. This week has included some real challenges.

invisiblemending1.jpg

I actually did some mending this week. I mended a shirt that had a hole in it and I sewed new zig-zag stitching around the dishcloths that were ragged. Why is it that mending just doesn’t have the joy linked to it that sewing a new quilt does?

418wbverd2l_aa240_.jpg

I tried a new window cleaner; Club Soda! It is recommended in the book Green Clean. I used it on the bathroom mirror and it worked great! It left the mirror clean with no streaks! With the Club Soda I don’t have to worry about what kind of cancer I’ll be getting if I inhale while spraying. And, if I get thirsty, I can just take a swig!

motorazr.jpg

I ran my husband’s cell phone through the washer. It might have been OK if I hadn’t been so efficient and put it through the dryer too. Apparently it is the heat that fried it. That was an expensive load of laundry. Maybe it would be cheaper to take the laundry to the cleaners. Now there’s a thought!!

pinwheel-star.jpg

And lastly, I put together this block for my guild’s November special project. You know the drill; everyone who makes a block gets their name thrown in a hat and the one name drawn gets all of the blocks. The block is called Pinwheel Star and we were to make it in black and “bright colors”. It was a very simple block to assemble. It used 2″ strips for all of the star parts. If I don’t win the blocks- which I won’t- I may make some more blocks for a quilt. I have a whole drawer full + of 2″ scrap strips that are ready to use.

I hope y’all have a great day and that you are able to meet your domestic challenges head on!

7 comments

  1. Club Soda! That’s a new one – I’m a big fan of vinegar and use it for a lot of my cleaning needs. Now I’ll have to add club soda to my shopping list *s*


  2. Domestic challenges–that’s a good one! They abound around here. The club soda trick will come in handy, especially since I sprayed tea all over my computer screen when I read you washed and dried your husband’s cell phone! That’ll teach him to leave it in his pocket!!!


  3. My husband used to carry a pocket watch. I think I washed about 3 or 4. After the last one, he started checking his pants pockets himself. *grin*


  4. I washed a couple of boxes of Free scraps a few years ago. Ended up having to replace the washing machine motor and pay about 3 repairman trips. It was pretty ugly around here for awhile! Now I try to keep that domestic goddess stuff to a bare minimum!


  5. Washing the cell phone–I’ve never heard that before. They make them too small don’t they? I washed some traveler’s checks once. They totally disintegrated, but of course they’re replaceable. 🙂


  6. Oh dear. I’m going to avoid the domestic chores and just say that I LOVE THAT BLOCK! Wish I were in the drawing. 🙂


  7. Love the block! Hope you win 🙂



Leave a Reply

