h1

WIP Wednesday

October 10, 2007

Woo-hoo! Robbing Peter to Pay Paul is completely pieced. Now it is going into the line-up for the quilting table. I’m looking forward to quilting it.

grandmom-6q.jpg

Since I finished up that top I took some time yesterday to clean the Viking and install a new needle. I’m not sure how often I am supposed to do that but I try to do it every time I finish a project. How often do y’all replace your needles in your DSM?

vikingq.jpg

I made a little progress on Autumn Jewels this week too. I made up the necessary templates and I pieced the first leaf. As I was assembling it I was a little frustrated, thinking that it was not going to work. But now that the first one is together I think that the pattern works fine. I just need to think about the seam allowances and decide which direction I want each one to lay. I also have quite a bit of bulk under the stem of the leaf from the seams on both sides of it. I may have to figure out a way around that.

ajq.jpg

I didn’t really get a lot accomplished this week but finishing up the Robbing Peter to Pay Paul top makes me feel like I accomplished a lot!

9 comments

  1. The red and white quilt is AWESOME! I can’t wait to see how you quilt it.


  2. I think finishing that top is a HUGE accomplishment. It looks wonderful — I’m with Vicki — eagerly awaiting your quilting choices!


  3. The top is wonderful.. The leaf is great, I was just thinking about this block and wondering if you had tried it. I just might have to have a go at this if you don’t mind.


  4. I can’t wait to see what you do with the quilting. You always make the magic happen. Beautiful work and the leaf block is really nice with that leafy background it swirls all together. Stunning


  5. Your newest top is a beauty . . . can’t wait to see it all quilted *s*


  6. Kudos to you for completing that top! It looks great and is going to be a real beauty when you are finished with it.


  7. Like the others, I think the RPPP top is a real accomplishment–and will be gorgeous with your quilting too!


  8. The red and white quilt top looks great. So does your maple leaf block.


  9. The RPPP top is fantastic and I love how you are designing that leaf block with the same type of circular pieces. Some day I will make a Drunkard’s Path; that has always been one of my favorites.



Leave a Reply

