h1

Pumpkins

September 5, 2007

I’m still working on my Pumpkins design and I’m wondering if I can get the quilt done by October 1. I’ve developed the pumpkin design a little farther and come up with a leaf block and layout.

pumpkins1q.jpg

Last time I showed you the three pumpkin designs I had made. I decided that I liked the realism and the curved lines of the one on the right, but I also liked the plumpness and simplicity of the one on the lower left with straight lines. So I am working on combining the two to come up with another. This is a rough sketch I did with Electric Quilt that I think holds promise. Next I need to make a fabric version and see how that looks.

pumpkins-4q.jpg

I also played around with a leaf block. A few years ago I made a wall hanging using a block similar to this:

pumpkins-2q.jpg

but I thought this time I’d like to add some sweeping movement to the leaves. So I tried adding a few curved lines and came up with this:

pumpkins-3q.jpg

Again, I need to make a fabric mock-up, but I am pleased with it so far.

For the quilt layout I’m looking at using a layout that Lynette Jensen has in one of her books, New Collection of Classic Quilts.

pumpkins-1q.jpg

The pumpkins and leaves around the edges would be pieced and then appliquéd onto the blank blocks. I’m figuring 12 inch blocks on point and 4 borders for an overall size of 48″x64″.

So now, I have the designs, I have the layout and I have the fabric. Can I get it done by October 1?

8 comments

  1. It’s amazing how those curves change that block and make the leave look as if they’re floating around in air. And the pumpkin design is wonderful.


  2. I like this. I might have o try the curved seams in the leaves. What a clever idea.


  3. I never seem to be ready for fall when it arrives. When does it arrive here in TX?


  4. What a beautiful design! No matter when you finish it, it’s going to be wonderful.


  5. That is a wonderful layout. I like the changes you made to the leaves.


  6. I love what you’re doing there. The leaves are really beautiful that way. Every year I say I’m going to have a Christmas quilt ready and guess what???? It’s Sept 7th already…AGH!


  7. Lovely layout. I like all those pumpkins. Couldn’t you use them all? Why do they have to match? But that’s just me talking; you may like symmetry 🙂


  8. I’m trying to get caught up on my blog reading since I am feeling somewhat more energetic. I love the pumpkins and leaves quilt design. The curved leaves are wonderful but I wouldn’t want to piece them right now.



Leave a Reply

