h1

Basting Glue Bottle

August 13, 2007

basting-glue.jpg

Have ya’ll seen this video by Sharon Schamber about turning your Elmer’s glue bottle into a basting glue bottle? I made one yesterday and it was really easy. I’ve already used it twice to turn under the edges of some applique I was working on. If you haven’t seen it, take a look and see if it is something that you might use too!

*NOTE: Sharon Schamber no longer has this video available but I posted a tutorial on my blog here. I hope it helps!

14 comments

  1. Oh, thanks – that was very interesting!


  2. Did you change the name of your blog? I looked in bloglines and thought, “This looks new!” and then I saw the Scots entry and thought, “I wonder if Deb knows this person who also knows the Scots”, then I realized you are Deb. Phew! It’s going to be one of those days! LOL!


  3. I’ve been using School Glue for some time now – haven’t tried the modification. I’ve gotten pretty good at making a tiny bead without *s*


  4. Wow, cool!


  5. Interesting link. Thanks!


  6. I use Elmer’s Glue Stick which also works well. Also, for marking quilting lines I like to use Crayola Washable Markers, fine point. They make a great clear line and wash out beautifully if you do what I do and rinse the quilt in the machine when it’s finished. The mark is too dark to just spritz out.


  7. I’ve used glue sticks but this looks great for tiny places. Thanks, Deb.


  8. I made one of these and have been using it for several months. Sharon just uploaded a bunch more videos on http://www.youtube.com
    Search for SharonSchamberNet


  9. Thanks for the tip and the link!


  10. I can across this website and saw the Elmer’s bottle. I looked for the video of how to make it but it has been taken off the internet. Can anyone send me the instructions. I would really like to make it. I have recently taken several of Sharon’s classes and have purchased to glue bottle tips from her website. But I have a way of losing things. I would really like to adjust the glue bottles as I buy then,
    Thank you so much for you help. Love the website.


    • Hi Mary Ann,

      Thanks for letting me know that link is no longer good. I will remove it.

      I love using the Elmer’s glue and use the bottles with my own tips all the time. I don’t know what I did before… 🙂

      I will create a tutorial for the glue bottle tips and post it on my blog. I hope to have it up by next Wednesday. I’ll drop you another email when it is up..

      Sincerely, Deb Geyer


    • Hi Mary Ann,

      I finally got a tutorial posted on the glue bottle caps. I hope that it helps you.

      Contemporary Traditions- Elmer’s Glue Bottle

      Sincerely, Deb Geyer


  11. Hi Deb; I would really, really like the instructions for making the tip of the Elmers glue bottle, Could you possible email it to me. I have search and can not find it on line. Thank you so much.


    • Hi Mary Ann!

      I put the instructions for the glue bottle lid on my blog in another post and it is here . I hope that helps! I find the new lids very useful!

      Deb Geyer



Leave a Reply

