h1

Quilts Delivered to BAMC

June 20, 2007

bamcq.jpg

My quilt guild recently assembled 111 quilts to deliver to wounded soldiers at the Brook Army Medical Center in San Antonio. The woman that headed up the project shared with me her experiences delivering those quilts to the center and I would like to share with you her words.

My husband and I drove up to the front of BAMC close to 10:00. There were soldiers sitting and waiting for the bus. They did not appear part of the wounded soldiers. We parked at the curb and I got out of the truck to wait for the captain who was to receive the quilts. (All 111 of them).

As I waited for the captain, I saw a soldier coming out of BAMC in a wheelchair. All of a sudden I thought – hey – while I am waiting why not give this man a quilt. I walked up to him and asked him if he would like to have a quilt. He looked up at me and his eyes lit up, and said “Sure”. I asked him if he would be able to handle it and he told me his Mother was coming and would help him. I asked him if he and been here long and said he had just gotten here. He had an injured leg.

The next soldier was was parking his van in the Handicap area and was extremely burned all over his body, BUT he was mobile, and independent. I walked over to him and presented him a quilt. As long as I live I will remember this young man who had the most beautiful blue eyes with dark long eyelashes. He smiled and said thank you. He must have been burned over 50% of his body and his face had been disfigured. What a brave soul.

Then I noticed a young woman using crutches walking with her Mother. I ran a quilt over to her. I asked her if she had been wounded in the War and she told me yes. I proceeded to present her with a quilt. Both she and her Mother were shocked, and yet her eyes lit up as I thanked her for her service.

The next young man was tall, nice looking, and either had an artificial leg, or had been severely burned on his right leg. He was mobile. I walked up to him and presented him with a quilt. His eyes lit up he keep thanking me for the quilt.

There was a young soldier with his mother who had been burned on his face. His mother and he were taken aback when presented the quilt and thanked for the young man’s service. But again, the eyes lit up with a smile.

Just as I turned around from presenting that quilt, I noticed out of the corner of my eye a young man hobbling to the waiting van. I picked up another quilt and hurried over to him. As he got into the van I presented him with a quilt. Again, the same light appeared in his eyes. He too thank me.

One of the soldiers who had received a quilt from me was getting into the same van and thanked me again, especially with the wonderful smile. I often worried that I would not be able to hold up to presenting a quilt to these seriously wounded soldiers, but they made it so easy for me.

During the last year there were so many times I became so tired, so exhausted, and so overwhelmed with the work that goes into a project like this, that I thought “I will be so glad to see these quilts go”! I guess God heard me because he certainly gave me a golden opportunity to see how great one can feel when they realize that the time and effort was really worth it. What a gift.

One last thing, I clung to the captain as I watched our beautiful quilts being wheeled into BAMC, it was like all of my children leaving home, and never to see them again. But, oh, won’t those soldier’s enjoy the fruits of our labor? Won’t they know they are loved and appreciated? YOU BET THEY WILL!!! I am so glad I pinned a letter to each quilt. It will be a memory for them forever.

Thank you all so very much for making this project such a success. Thank you for helping me fill a void in my life. But most of all, thank you for putting that twinkle in the soldier’s eyes.

God Bless All of You.

7 comments

  1. Wow, how neat. I was tearing up reading this. Now I will have something to look for the next time I’m at BAMC. My DH is retired military and we are just outside of SA.

    Great job!


  2. Aw, Deb, that is just wonderful. I am so glad that your friend went grass roots and gave the quilts to the soldiers nearby–that was a cool gesture. Thanks for sharing the guild’s story with us! Made my day!


  3. Heartwarming, and it reinforces how important it is to show that we care. Jen


  4. What a wonderful story. Thank you and your guild for sharing.


  5. Very wonderful letter you’ve shared. I hear stories like this and it makes me glad I do what I do. Thanks!


  6. She thinks she was giving the gifts, but I think SHE’s the one who received a gift. Nice story.


  7. Thanks for sharing that wonderful story. The secret of getting, is GIVING! Glad she presented some of those quilts personally.



Leave a Reply

