h1

7 Interesting Things About Me

May 14, 2007

I was tagged by Debra to list 7 interesting things about myself. Thanks, Debra. I wear many different hats throughout the day so here are random thoughts on 7 of those hats; housekeeper, barber, purchasing director, teacher, gardener, therapist, and quilter.

hat2q.jpg

Housekeeper- I’d like to run a neat and tidy, orderly house but I never quite achieve it. One of the reasons is because of the cyclic nature of housekeeping. Have you ever noticed with the laundry, that by the time you finish folding and and hanging the last of the clean laundry, clothes are already collecting in the hamper? By the time you are done drying and putting away the last of the clean dishes, there is a dirty glass, if not a cereal bowl sitting by the sink. Mopping the floor is a sure sign someone is going to spill something! I just try to think of it as job security.

hat1q.jpg

Barber- I began cutting my husband’s hair 17 years ago. I learned one way to cut his hair that looks good with his hair type, which is coarse and curly, and I have used that cut ever since. When my two boys came along it seemed only right that I should also cut their hair as they both have curly hair similar to dad’s. When they got to be pre-teens I gave them the choice of going to a barber for their hair cuts but they still choose to have mom do it.

Then Christina was born. She had a head full of long, beautiful, fine straight hair. I decided that my one hair-cut ability was not going to work with her. So every month she and I have a girl’s day out when we go out to get our hair cut!

hat3q.jpg

Purchasing director- I always enjoy a stroll through the mall with a friend, but I do as much shopping on-line as I can. I would love to be able to also do my grocery shopping on-line. Just think, I’d always be able to find the current ads. My calculator would always be handy for price comparisons right on the computer screen. My coupons would all be neatly organized in a little pop-up window with expired coupons automatically deleted. There would be no more impulse buying. And all of the groceries would be delivered to my door. How cool that would be!!

hat4q.jpg

Teacher- I started home schooling my first born when he reached kindergarten age. I was convinced that it was the best thing for him and I have taught him and his siblings ever since. My favorite subject to teach is history. I find it fascinating to share stories  about peoples of other times and places. Some of the stories are touching, others are absurd. I am amazed at how many times history has repeated itself. Will we never learn?

hat5q.jpg

Gardener-All though it can be very tiring work and sometimes frustrating, gardening is very relaxing for me. When I feel stressed out and overwhelmed with everything going on in the house, I head out to the garden to pull a few weeds.

hat6.jpg

Therapist-My daughter was born with Down’s Syndrome. The first 3 years of her life there was a constant parade of therapists coming and going in our house . They were working with Christina and teaching me how to work with Christina to insure that she would develop “normally”. I have a great admiration and respect for all of these therapists; speech therapists, physical therapists and occupational therapists. They have a tough job laid before them and they must deal so closely with people from all walks of life. Most days must be very rough for them and yet they always kept working with Christina with patience and perseverance. My hat is off to them.

hat7q.jpg

Quilter-I think you know just about all there is to know about my quilting. If not, just check back here. There will be something new in a few days.

7 comments

  1. Thanks for a bit of insight into your life. It’s always intersting to learn something new about friends. Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.


  2. darn, debra! I’m following right behind her with the 7 things meme. But I’m leaving you on my list since you’ve posted for debra. 🙂


  3. Haircutting fascinates me! I could spend the whole day at the salon watching people get haircuts. I have never been brave enough (or had any real willing subjects) to give someone else a haircut–but I have thought about it.

    Fun list–thanks for sharing some things about yourself. Can’t wait to hear how Susan & Fred liked the quilt.


  4. Good stuff.


  5. Wow Deb. Those are really interesting things. I admire the fact that you were brave enough to home school.

    I’ve always loved Downs kids. I think they’re angels sent to Earth. My 1st downs friend was a girl named Patty in Jr High school. She was in my gym class, & she was the sweetest soul.

    I’ve always cut the boy’s hair too.


  6. My husband cuts our boys’ hair. I take Amy to get hers done. It is a lot of fun. I think as she gets older, it will be more fun.

    I admire anyone who can homeschool and stick to it. Not something I am capable of…


  7. The hats are a very clever idea and I learned some things about you that I definitely didn’t know.



Leave a Reply

