h1

Nifty Gadget

May 4, 2007

I love how a nifty little gadget can make life so easy! I have been wanting to find an easy way to cut stencil for some time now. And I have finally found it! I got this nifty OLFA stencil cutter from The Stencil Company. The handle holds two blades (similar to Exacto blades) and a spacer that holds the blades a consistent distance apart from each other. So when you make a cut with it, it cuts two parallel lines. So cool!

stencil2q.jpg

Of course I could also purchase stencil material to make my stencils but I thought I would first try some clear acetate that I already had on hand and it works great.

stencil1q.jpg

I sketch the design on the acetate with a permanent marker.

stencil3q.jpg

I cut a few lines along the design; enough to show the design but not too much that the stencil falls apart.

stencil4q.jpg

I go back and cut crosswise at each end of the cuts to remove a portion.

stencil5q.jpg

And the stencil is ready to use. I like to use the air erasable marker to mark quilts, the purple one. Sometimes I will sketch the entire line in with marker, sometimes I will just connect the dots with the stitching.

It is amazing how one little gadget can make life so enjoyable!!

6 comments

  1. Very cool!


  2. thanks for the little peek-I see the hearts in the picture and I love that stencil-it’s perfect…as are you


  3. That is pretty cool. It beats paying $5 for stencils at the quilting store.


  4. Nifty lil gadget there! You’re so creative!


  5. I think I will order one of those stencil cutters too! I bought some machine quilting books in Denver and would like to see what I can do with them. Having some stencils of the designs would be so much easier.


  6. Cool tool … I think that I’m gonna have to have one of those. Thanks for telling us about it.



Leave a Reply

