h1

Infinite Feathers

March 22, 2007

If you are looking for a great resource for ways to use feathers check out this book; Infinite Feathers Quilting Designs, by Anita Shackelford.

infinite.jpg

Ms Shackleford has included numerous ideas on how to use feathers creatively such as in pinwheels, rosettes, wreaths, medallions, ovals, hearts, lyres, swags, plumes, paisleys and borders. She gives step by step directions on how to lay out each design. Her directions focus mainly on formal feathers but there is also a section on longarm feathers and continuous-line designs.

The only thing that I didn’t like about the book is that it is based on the use of her own template called the Infinite Feathers Quilting Design Template. I had hoped to find the template in a little pocket in the back of the book, but no such luck. Now if I want to use the template I’m going to have to hunt it down and buy it. She does suggest if you don’t have the template to make your own; which I may do.

It will be a great resource to have on my book shelf and I’m sure it will get pulled out and used many times!

5 comments

  1. This is a great book, it’s one of the ones I recommend when I teach my feather class. I like it just simply because it has beautiful feathers to look at! I don’t have the template, and don’t miss it. I do all of my feathers freehand, and just look at her designs for inspirations.


  2. The design on the cover is gorgeous. Thanks for the recommendation!


  3. I love feathers, and I have looked at the book online a few times. This time I may have to actually buy it!


  4. Your feathers on Dee’s quilt for Molly are beautiful. I’ve always admired those feather designs used that way on quilts. This book should help you get even better at it.


  5. Anita is also a great speaker–if she comes to a guild near you, go … it will be worth the trip.



Leave a Reply

