h1

More on Curve Master

February 5, 2007

Well, the honeymoon is over with Curve Master and me. We had our first spat when I changed projects and tried some tighter curves.

12×12feb2q.jpg 12×12feb3q.jpg 12×12feb2q.jpg 12×12feb3q.jpg 12×12feb2q.jpg 12×12feb3q.jpg

What I learned was that Curve Master is not a magician and if I don’t do my part right the curves don’t come out right. It seems that it is very important to start the curved seam at the right point. It I don’t, I end up with a long tail or I run out of fabric before the end of the seam. Makes sense, huh? Also it can make a big difference if the pieces of fabric are not cut exactly right. DUH! These issues were there before, they were just magnified when I started working with smaller, tighter curves.

So it was touch and go there for a while; Curve Master almost ended up in the round file. But we worked things out and Curve Master is still attached to my DSM and we are making curves together; just a bit more slowly and carefully.

7 comments

  1. Hmmm…Here I was hoping it was the magic solution to all my sloppy cutting. Still I may give it atry one of these days. Loved the photo of you with all the arms. How many times have I wished for another pair of hands. Lol.


  2. Yaknow, I can do a pretty good curved seam on my own (from all those years of setting in sleeves on dresses), maybe I’ll just save my money!


  3. I’m not surprised you aren’t feelin’ the love. I’ve read lots of gripes about the Curve Master. I think people either love it or hate it. But if you persevere (as you clearly seem to be doing), you’ll probably make peace with it. Just one more learning curve (no pun intended!).


  4. I’m glad you two are getting along now. Just as with anything else, there’s got to be a learning CURVE. Woops, I just saw Jane Ann said the same thing. My pun was intended, though. Hang in there.


  5. I don’t know if this helps or not, but I learned to fold in half and mark the centers by creasing. Then match these centers and pin and then pin each end to match. Then ease in the fullness between the pins as you stitch. Should give you a nice smooth curve.


  6. Live and learn (and learn, and learn, and learn…) – isn’t that what it’s all about!


  7. I bought this at the Hershey Quilt show a few years back, never tried it (does anyone think I can actually find it at this point?)

    Sometimes I think it might be faster just to piece pesky curves by hand.



Leave a Reply

