h1

The Curve Master

February 2, 2007

My Curve Master Presser Foot came in the mail yesterday. I couldn’t wait to try it out so I went straight to the sewing room.

curvemaster1.jpg

The foot comes with various adapters so that it will work on any sewing machine. My Husqvarna didn’t need any of the adapters; the foot snapped right on. See the little extension to the right? That is a guide for 1/4″ seams. It can be used for straight or curved seams. My main interest right now is how it works for curved seams. So I pulled out some pieces for my Love Ring quilt.

curvemaster4.jpg

The instructions say to align the beginning edge of pieces, right sides together butting the edges against the Curve Master 1/4″ guide.

curvemaster6.jpg

For curves, I had to lift and hold the top fabric lightly between left thumb and index finger very close to the front edge of the Curve Master. Then I gently coaxed the top fabric toward the right while my right hand pushed the bottom fabric toward the left so that their edges met at the guide. It was actually amazing how easy it was after I got the hang of it!

curvemaster2.jpg


curvemaster3.jpg

The best part of it is no pins and no clipping! Viola! The first block for my parents’ Love Ring quilt!

curvemaster7.jpg

12 comments

  1. THat looks like a handy little gadget. Do the curves lie flat without clipping? If it works that well I would be more interested in trying some curved quilitng. How much did it cost?


  2. You know, I’ve always wondered if that foot actually works. I haven’t really wanted to do any curved seams, so it hasn’t been something I’ve wanted to investigate….you should be done with all of those blocks in no time, right?


  3. That quilt is going to be smashing! I’ll follow your progress avidly.


  4. Wow, cool! Thanks for showing it in action. So how’d you take the picture? Hold the camera in your mouth and click the button with your tongue? Inquiring minds want to know.


  5. Listen to Rian! I wouldn’t have thought about that, but now that she brought it up, I’m curious. Cool little gadget!


  6. Looks great. I’d heard this foot really worked, and you just proved it. Of course, now my ability to sew a curved seam the old way is unnecesary–sort of like being a good typist, I guess! LOL


  7. I was going to ask the same question as Rian. How’d ya do it? I’ve seen the foot demoed but the is the first report I’ve heard on it.


  8. I would like to have one of these, but I read where I need an adapter for my Bernina that costs almost as much as the special foot.

    Thanks for the demo. Good pictures.


  9. I have a big fear of curves, but you make it look not so hard. I want to know how you took the pictures, too. I wouldn’t have thought about it if Rian hadn’t said anything.


  10. Pretty good visuals! I still have my NYB to finish–maybe I should drop the bucks for the foot too.


  11. Yeah Deb! One down 98 to go! (BTW – nice demo.)


  12. That is very cool!



Leave a Reply

