h1

12×12 January

January 17, 2007

12×12jan4q.jpg

I was finally able to get some pictures of my 12×12 project for January. The piecing is based on the Broken Dishes pattern. The center section shows Broken Dishes in its traditional form while around the edges I varied the pattern to create some interesting effects. The fabrics are all hand dyed and I was thinking of winter when I chose the colors.

12×12jan3q.jpg

For the quilting I used a few different traditional patterns; parallel lines in the framework around the center, Triangle Elbow in the triangles around the edge and feathers in the light blue area. This is the first time I have done feathers on anything other than a practice piece. The redeeming factor here is that it is so small that you can’t see whether they are any good or not!! 🙂

Hey, how did that Herringbone Stitch get in there? I tell you, I have to watch what I look at on the internet because I never know when it will show up in my work!!

13 comments

  1. I see your weather pixie is bundled up too! brr.

    Lovely work, Deb!


  2. This is very nice. You sure are an inspiration.


  3. This has such a soft peaceful feeling to it.


  4. It’s lovely! I really like the mixture of techniques and the color palette is so calm and relaxing. Are those pearls that I see in the intersections of the center section? Very nice touch!


  5. Your feathers look fantastic! Doesn’t look like first time, you must have done your practice well.


  6. It’s wonderful Deb. Even though I’m fed up with winter, the colors in this piece does have a calming effect. Lovely work.


  7. I love your block. The colors are very wintery and the quilting is well done. Is it by hand or machine?


  8. LOL about your herringbone stitch. I love that addition and the beads (are they beads?) in the centers of the blocks.


  9. What a great piece! I love the effect of the quilting and embroidery!


  10. love it! the colors are so clear and pure… and those feathers look pretty good to me!


  11. Just beautiful, Deb. (But you knew that, didn’t you?)


  12. I really like the way you designed this piece, Deb. The colors are yummy, but your quilting is what really makes it pop.


  13. Love it! Great color and the quilting is exquisite.



Leave a Reply

