h1

Do You Love Your Stuff?

January 12, 2007

Jane Ann had a very interesting post earlier this week and I am going to steal her topic ummm, expand on her comments and questions. “Do You Love Your Stuff?”, she asked. ” Do you love your creations or are you happy to see them go?”

I must answer that, for the most part, I am happy to see my quilts go out the door to new homes. I do realize that if I kept everything that I ever made there would be no room for me, let alone my family, in the house. But I think that there is more to it than that. The joy in quilting for me comes in the process; actually sitting down and doing the work, seeing it all come together. Looking at them is fun, talking about them is fun. But doing the work is what I live for. And when a project is done it no longer holds that joy for me. I am already thinking about the next project or, more likely, I’ve already started the next project. And I am ready to push the old project aside to work on the next.

veggiesq.jpg

That said, I must admit that there are a few “milestone” and “personal” pieces that I will not let go of. The cross stitch wallhanging that took me 7 years to finish would be one of those. The first quilt I finished on the quilting machine would be another. My kids’ Christmas stockings, of course, would be some more that will never go out of the door.

stockingsq.jpg

To close, I want to share a story with you about my daughter. She has definately become attached to “her” quilt. She often comes into my sewing room early in the morning, curls up and sleeps for a few minutes while I work. Well, one morning I grabbed the closest quilt, which didn’t happen to be “her quilt” to covered her up. She immediately sat up and said, “NO! Not that quilt!”, with a look on her face like I had betrayed her to the enemy! I have a feeling Christina’s quilt will not be going out the door anytime soon either!

7 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It sounds like we have similar opinions about this topic!

    I love the stockings — and your daughter’s story. I’ve made new quilts for my boys, but they still want to wrap up in the baby quilts they’ve been using since they were 4 months old.


  2. Amen to your thoughts on this topic. I feel exactly the same way; you said it very well.


  3. I think I am in the same camp. Many of the thing I make are made specifically for someone from the get-go so I never consider it “mine”. I’ve had a couple of quilts that I made for myself but found myself thinking of someone each time I worked on it. In those cases I HAD to give the quilt to the person. Like you, I have a few pieces that were just indulgent for me and I can’t let them go….my beaded miniature challenge quilt and a Cathedral Window (still in process) made in my Grandmother’s memory are 2 that come to mind.


  4. I can see why you are keeping the items shown in your post. I feel that way about the three quilts that I have hand quilted. Actually the third one is only about half done but that one will definitely not be going out the door anytime soon. Also the first big quilt I made specially for our bed will stay here. The rest can go to new homes with pleasure.


  5. The quilts I have specifically made for me or my husband stay, all others go. They are made to be used and loved, sitting in my closet does not allow that to happen. Your handiwork you completed is beautiful. Have a good day.


  6. I do love to quilt. Both my Grandmothers and Mom quilted. I think it is in the genes. I love to hand stitch. I enjoy the feel of the quilt. I have given quilts away to friends and family. And sold a few at our church fund raisers.
    I enjoyed coming to your blog…I should post a few pictures of quilts I have made.


  7. Good site!!!



Leave a Reply

