h1

Martha Ann’s Quilt for Queen Victoria

January 10, 2007

I love to pass the traditions and the challenges of quilting on to the younger generations. One of the best ways to do this is through storybooks. Martha Ann’s Quilt for Queen Victoria  by Kyra E. Hicks is a great book for sharing those traditions and a little bit of history too.

martha-ann.jpg

Martha Ann knows all about slavery because she was a slave until her dad bought her freedom when she was 12 years old. That is why she is so grateful to see Queen Victoria helping to curtail the slave trade in Africa. Her gratitude leads her to decide to make a beautiful quilt and to hand deliver it to the queen. This is a true story and shows the determination of a strong woman.

I’m going to recommend this book for my guild’s Storybook Quilts program. There are lovely illustrations by Lee Edward Fodi of the quilt which is based on a coffee tree design. The design would make a nice quilt for kids to look at while hearing the story of Martha Ann.

4 comments

  1. and are you going to do the hand applique too?? (like between midnight and 3:00 a.m. when you aren’t doing anything else)

    It looks like a great book and I think your guild has such a good idea with the book + quilts program.


  2. I love to read books about quilting and I will have to add this book to my purchase list.

    I love the new banner on your blog.


  3. I really love the connection between quilting and literature that you so often showcase. I’ll be looking for that one.


  4. That’s a sweet story about your daughter and “her” quilt. I kind of feel the same way about “my” quilt.

    Deb, thank you for contributing to my prayer shawl. It means a lot. I appreciate your cares and prayers. xoxo



Leave a Reply

