h1

Victorian Scrapbook

December 29, 2006

srap1q.jpg

My mother brought over a scrap book yesterday that she acquired after the death of one of my uncles. The book was made for my grandmother in 1910. It is so sweet. The title page says:

The Possible Life of Flora L Sanders 1891- 1968.

Wishing you a merry Christmas

From your chum, Annie R Hancock, December 1910.

 

The pages are a heavy weight paper that has yellowed and crumbled around the edges over the years. They are bound together with strands of pink and grey ribbon. The pages are full of photos and drawings from that time depicting what Annie envisioned that my grandmother’s life would be like.

scrap3q.jpg

I imagine that the pictures all came from catalogs and magazines and they have been very carefully cut and pasted in place with handwritten captions.

scrap6q.jpg

scrap4q.jpg

scrap7q.jpg

My grandmother was only 19 years old when the scrap book was made. It is interesting to see how many of the predictions did come true. Annie predicted that grandmother would marry a soldier returning from a war; she did 10 years later. She predicted that she would learn to drive; she never did. She predicted that grandmother would have 1 son and 1 daughter; she had 1 son and 2 daughters. She predicted that my grandmother would live until 1968; she lived until 1986.

scrap8q.jpg

But… the most interesting part is the little piece of folded paper tucked between the pages. On it, written in a beautiful flowing manuscript is a love poem, written to my grandmother.

Fond hearts must part as surely as sinks the golden sun.

But ours I trust shall ever be two hearts that beat as one.

Where rocks and hills divide us and we are far apart

Remember your name, in golden letters, is written on my heart.

Farewell to you, a sorrowful adieu, I often sigh and think of you.

Your name will cling around my heart and from my memory will never part.

Written by a boy that loves you with all his heart.

Sniff, sniff, how beautiful!! No one in the family knows who wrote this poem to my grandmother. I’m sure she remembered, she kept that paper for at least 70 years!

9 comments

  1. What a treasure! Thanks for sharing the beautiful scrapbook. Jen


  2. WOW! WOW! WOW!

    (am I impressed or what?)


  3. You have a great treasure, filled with history and memories.

    Have you given any thoughts how to preserve it so the pages do not yellow and crumble any more. Maybe just leave the book as is and scan each page and backup on the computer.


  4. Truly, truly special! How wonderful. (Makes me want to start making something that I can tuck away and may someday be passed on to a generation not yet born.)


  5. Deb, that is so special. What a wonderful gift. A real treasure, thanks so much for sharing. You’ll definitely want to preserve it and pass it on to generations to come.


  6. What an amazing treasure!


  7. I can only repeat the above. What a treasure. And thank you for sharing it with us.


  8. This is such a wonderful keepsake.


  9. Aren’t scrapbooks wonderful? A real glimpse into someone’s life, what was important to them. I still have one from when I was about 13; my daughter started one in high school. I’m glad people are still scrapping. You have a treasure there.



Leave a Reply

