h1

12x12x12 Portfolio Challenge

December 11, 2006

The 12x12x12 Portfolio Challenge is a quilt project organized by the Quilt Studio Ring. The project is a series of 12 quilts, 12 inches by 12 inches, to be finished by the 12th of each month in 2007. Each quilter is to come up with her own theme to follow for her series of quilts. The finished quilts will be displayed on the Quilt Studio Ring blog.

I have decided to join the 12x12x12 group. For my theme I will have 2 guidelines to follow:

1. to use only hand dyed fabrics

2. to use traditional pieced patterns developed into contemporary variations

yankee-puzzle-in-greenq.jpg

This is a direction that I have explored a little bit in the past and would like to go with further so this looks like the perfect opportunity. I have quite a few hand-dyed fabrics in my stash already so I won’t have to dye every month. But I do hope to have 3 or 4 dye sessions throughout the year so that I can experiment and learn more about dying. To develop the patterns I may use ideas and inspiration from Ruth B. McDowell’s book Pattern on Pattern or Joen Wolfrom’s book Patchwork Persuasion.

Sande mentioned that this would be a good opportunity to develop a body of work for a portfolio, for getting a teaching position, for getting a gallery show or for getting contract work. That would be nice 🙂 But I think it is also a good opportunity to have some fun on some small pieces of quilted art!

4 comments

  1. Great theme Deb and what a wonderful way to experiment and learn. I love Ruth McDowell’s book – I made two quilts from it Four Patch Variation and Roman Square Pinwheels. You might also like Pepper Cory’s Crosspatch.


  2. I added some additional guidelines too–I hope I can make the deadlines! Your work is always very ingenuous!


  3. Very striking work, I love what you are showing here. I look forward to seeing more. Jen


  4. I really like the look of this quilt, colors, fabrics, design, everything. If your 12 x quilts are this kind of thing, they will be lovely, especially all together. I look forward to seeing them.



Leave a Reply

