h1

IQF 2006

November 6, 2006

I just got back from International Quilt Festival in Houston last night and I have to share with you my favorite quilt… OK, one of my favorites… Ok, they were all my favorites. I’ll share with you one that stands out in my mind; Renoir Reassembled.

iqf1q.jpg

Six ladies from Heathsville, Virginia took Renoir’s The Boating Party and rendered it in fabric. They sliced a photo of the painting into 8 pieces and each took a piece to complete. They could use any technique that they wanted but they were not allowed to show their work or consult with each other until the final reveal. Seven months later the pieces were assembled for display at their guild’s annual show.

iqf2q.jpg

Why does this one stand out in my mind over hundreds of others? Partly because I have always loved Renoir’s paintings, The Boating Party especially. But I also think that these ladies have done a wonderful job of rendering the party. Even though 8 different women worked on this without even consulting each other they were able to assemble it and have the pieces flow together nicely. And I like how they have added little 3-D touches to the painting. The rose on the lady’s hat is 3-D, as are the lace and scarf around her neck. Throughout the quilt they had little touches like that. I think that is why this is a special quilt to me.

13 comments

  1. The butterfly quilt that I have on my blog from the show was constructed in a similiar way. The butterflies are just full of great textures and ideas.

    Maybe we should do this too??


  2. What a neat idea (and execution).


  3. Very cool – thanks for sharing it!


  4. “The Boating Party” has always been one of my favorites as well, and this quilt is a joy!


  5. I love the three dimensional touches. This is pretty amazing.


  6. How did I miss that one??? I spent 2 days there and you still can’t get it all in!! Thanks for sharing this on your blog. I will be posting about my experience on my blog as well. http://e14studio.blogspot.com
    ~Sharon


  7. Wonderful! What a guild this must be!


  8. Wow! I’ve seen other quilts done this way, split up among a group…but this one is excellent! Thanks for sharing.


  9. Absollutely amazing how well it goes together. Renoir would be delighted.


  10. Your practicing is very interesting! Looks like you are doing well. Who did you take your classes from? Curious minds want to know!


  11. Your practicing is very interesting! Looks like you are doing well. Who did you take your classes from? Curious minds want to know!

    Patti


  12. wow! That is wonderful!


  13. I’m so glad you explained what this quilt was about. I had seen it in pictures and thought it looked strange. Now it all makes sense and I really like it.



Leave a Reply

