h1

Canyon Lake

November 4, 2006

My boys spent most of the week with their grandparents at Canyon Lake, which is north east of San Antonio. While I was there to pick them up I took a couple of pictures to share with you.

cnynlkq.jpg

Here in this part of Texas we don’t come by lakes easily. Canyon Lake is the result of a dam built on the Guadalupe River. The dam, built by the Army Corp of Engineers, took 6 years to build and it took another4 years for the lake to fill.

cnynlk2q.jpg

The lake now has 80 miles of shoreline. It provides flood protection to the lower Guadalupe River and is a popular water recreational area. My boys had fun fishing and I got to share in their Catfish catch Thursday for lunch. Yum-m-m!

4 comments

  1. The Renoir quilt is fantastic and one fo my favorite paintings too. It’s amazing how it all goes together. What an interesting concept.


  2. The last time I went to Houston a group had done a similar thing only they used a photo of an antique quilt and divided it up…it was very cool. I think it would be a fun thing to be a part of someday…Thanks for sharing the photo, I also love Renoir, …those quilters did a wonderful job! =-)


  3. Wow! That is truly beautiful–thank you for sharing with those of us who had to stay home! Maybe one day I’ll get there!


  4. I didn’t get to go to Houston, thank you so much for sharing. The Renoir quilt turned out wonderfully!



Leave a Reply

