h1

Shimmering Waters

October 25, 2006

shimwaterq.jpg

Shimmering Waters is a small quilted pice that I made in 2005 and is one one my favorite pieces that I have done using a traditional pattern in a contemporary fashion. The finished size is 12″ x 12″. I played with the initial pattern, enlarging and reducing it and overlaying it. Then I filled in the spaces with different values. The fabrics are all  commercial cottons.

shimwater2q.jpg

For the quilting I experimented with McTavishing, a freehand meandering procedure. This quilt was finished before I got my longarm so it was quilted on my Husqvarna sewing machine. I finished it up by highlighting some of the quilting lines with beads.

11 comments

  1. very pretty!!


  2. Wonderful! I wish you’d stuck it in the box with the Lone Star! *wink*


  3. Gorgeous! I’ll bet that is stunning in person.


  4. This is really beautiful, Deb. I’m not crazy about McTavishing because I think it sometimes takes over, but it is perfect on this piece, just echoing the lines. Ditto on the beads.


  5. This is lovely. I’ve seen reference to McTavishing, but wasn’t sure exactly what it is.


  6. Wonderful! It sparkles.


  7. The title is absolutely perfect, Deb. This piece really does shimmer: colors, beadin, quilting!


  8. I sure know what you mean! Little drawers, little boxes, filing cabinets etc. Can’t have too many in my life! Not only do they give me a place to put my treasures – they also give me hope that I can find them again when I need them! 🙂 Very important as one gets older! I think one of the best ever inventions for us quilters – after the sewing machine – was rolling plastic carts full of drawers!


  9. Nice McTavishing! I also like the look of your new blog. What did you do with your old blogger posts? Maybe I need to save mine to my hard drive. I’m tempted to make the move myself.


  10. Scrumptious. I love blue and this is really special blue.

    I love little drawers, also, plus little boxes. Joe and I have a collection of all kinds of old wooden boxes, from antique Coors cases to oak file boxes, to wooden boxes with seals that used to hold cointreau bottles. Big ones, little ones, where can I find room for more? The most common item becomes a treasure in a drawer or box.


  11. Fantastic design, keep up the god work!



Leave a Reply

