h1

Artist’s Journal

October 10, 2006

artbin1.jpg


For some time now, I’ve been thinking about how to work on an artist’s journal on location. When Rian posted this photo of chalks being used for street drawings I thought all of those wonderful colors looked like little strips of fabric.

artbin2.jpg

So I pulled out an old box I used in college called the Art Bin ( I know a tackle box when I see it!).

artbin3.jpg

And I cut up bits of fabric and loaded them into the art bin. I realized that I could not put my whole fabric stash in the box so I decided to only include my hand dyed fabrics. I had a pretty wide range of hues although not all of the values were there. I cut them all into 1 inch squares because I like working in a grid. I also threw in a small pair of scissors, an acid free glue stick, some pencils, pins, needles and pencils.

artbin4.jpg

Today I got the opportunity to use my art bin. My son had a doctor’s appointment and the receptionist warned me ahead of time that it would be a very long session and to bring a book. So I took my art bin and a brand new sketch book. I was hoping there would be an interesting still life in the waiting room; a plant, a lamp, whatever, to sketch. No such luck. There were only chairs and 2 end tables. So I just played around with the fabrics and came up with some interesting designs.

artbin5.jpg

No one told me I was weird to be sitting there doing that, in fact no one seemed to notice at all.

artbin6.jpg


The best part of it all is that the time flew by. We were there for over 3 hours and I didn’t even mind!

5 comments

  1. This looks like fun! It’s like pixels!

    You do know about the fusible grid, don’t you?


  2. What a great way to keep yourself occupied on those long waits.


  3. It’s fantastic. I keep playing in my head with the notion of “quilting in public.” Until now, traditional hand-piecing or hand appliqué seemed the only options. I love, love, love, your portable palette of fabrics … and what you’ve already done with it 😉


  4. Isn’t that cool?

    Now you can cut the squares in half and carry along some rectangles to mix in every now and then if you want.


  5. What an amazing idea and your pieces are beautiful. You really are taking risks and growing.



Leave a Reply

