h1

Texas Star

September 22, 2006

texasstarquart.jpg

I haven’t been spending much time piecing lately; all of my quilting time has been spent quilting with the longarm. So to keep my DSM from feeling dejected I spent some time with it this morning putting together this block. I like to combine traditional blocks. With this one I used a Texas Star and put a Windmill in the center.

I had always thought this star was called an Ohio Star. But Barbara Brackman, in her Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns, calls it a Texas Star among other names. Since I live in Texas… Texas Star sounds just fine!

9 comments

  1. Cute block!


  2. Sure is puuuurty…


  3. Lovely!


  4. ITs gorgeous and esp since blue is my favorite color. The dark blue is beautiful. Is it a Batik?


  5. A “Lone Star” at the moment. Love the blues, Deb!


  6. Very pretty! I love the shading of the blues.

    I think Ohio Star is turned differently, with flying geese unit toward long side of block? Texans do things their way, I guess 🙂


  7. Good job Deb, I like the pinwheel in the middle. It’s fun to combine different blocks to make a new whole. I like stars with log cabins in the middle too.


  8. It’s a beauty!


  9. Delightful!



Leave a Reply

