h1

Plans Gone Awry

August 20, 2006

I have learned that when I don’t think a plan thru completely it will go awry. This is what happened with my current project Go Away Dark Night. I didn’t think it thru when I started making the star blocks. If I had thought it thru before hand, I might have realised that the stars in a rectangular block were not going to work in the sashed on-point setting like the book illustrations showed them. And I might have noticed that a half-star rectangle doesn’t fit into a triangle space… DUH!

darknightquart2.jpg

Yesterday, at guild meeting I talked with the chairman of Storybook Quilts and we decided to start all over. The blocks that I already made will be sold at a silent auction to try and recoup some of the cost of the fabric. And it is back to the drawing table with Go Away Dark Night.

darknightquart.jpg


But this is one of the things that I love about quilting… the challenges.

3 comments

  1. Culdn’t you just square them up by trimming off 2 ends? Or adding strips to the other 2 sides?


  2. I’m sure you are a purist and want it to be all technically right but I bet there is a way to cheat somehow!

    I do agree, though, that I hate it when I make this kind of goof.


  3. Too bad, those are lovely stars. I like the drawing of the stars, on point,with sashing in between.



Leave a Reply

