h1

Quilting International

July 27, 2006

Kay of outofthebasement did a nice review of quilting magazines called What Should Quilters Read? I mostly agree with what she said but I wanted to add some comments on my favorite magazine; Quilting International.

mag3-quarter.jpg

Quilting International was a magazine that used to be published back in the early ’90s. Does anyone else remember it? The fine print says that it is an All American Crafts Publication. A search of All American Crafts Publications website did not turn up any mention of Quilting International. So I assume it is no longer being published. I know I have not seen it lately. Nor have I seen any other magazine that I enjoy as much.

mag1-quarter.jpg

Every issue was packed with inspiring photos of the quilting being done around the world. And all of the work was original and creative.

mag4-quarter.jpg

This is where I became familiar with names like Nancy Crow, Ruth McDowell, Ellen Anne Eddy, Nancy Halpern, Vicki Johnson and more.

mag7-quarter.jpg

The photos inspired me to spend every minute that my toddlers were napping at my sewing machine with the belief that I could do that too.

mag2-quarter.jpg

This magazine probably did more to shape my work today than any other book or magazine. I applaude the folks that put it together.

mag6-quarter.jpg


Have a great weekend! 🙂

3 comments

  1. I wasn’t following quilting at that time, but this does look like a wonderful magazine. What a shame an equivalent publication isn’t being produced now. Thanks for the information!


  2. Me too. It looks like a magazine I would really get something from. Maybe someone will decided to follow it’s style before too long, after all everything comes arround in cycles doesn’t it.


  3. I would’ve enjoyed those photos. It’s always nice to find something that inspires you.



Leave a Reply

