h1

Wheat Germ

June 8, 2006

wheatseed.jpg

I am on a mission.

 

I am on a mission to feed my family healthier foods. The challenge is to complete this mission without the whole family moving out of the house, or even starving to death!!

wheat.jpg

I was doing a little research yesterday and found that there are more nutrients per ounce in wheat germ than any other grain product or vegetable. One 3.5 ounce serving of wheat germ provides 27 grams of protein- more protein per volume than most meats. Who would have thought?! Wheat germ is also high in iron, potassium, vitamins B1 and B3, phosphorous, lecithin, riboflavin, calcium, magnesium, selenium, zinc and vitamin E. I didn’t find any info on its fat content, but I would venture to say that it doesn’t have a lot of fat. :-)I learned that wheat germ can be substituted for 1/2 cup or so of flour in my favorite recipes. It can be added to meatloaves, breads, salads and cassaroles. It can be used to bread chicken or fish. Fresh wheat germ must be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator and used in one week. For longer shelf life it can be frozen.

So, don’t tell the family, but I am going to start sneaking some of this wonder food into everything I can get away with.

One comment

  1. Thanks for educating us about the benefits of wheat germ. We switched over last summer to mostly whole grain pastas, breads, etc. but could add even more goodies with the addition of the wheat germ. I lost 35 pounds last summer by improving my diet and going to Curves three times a week. Then I had a lot of health challenges and fell off the wagon. I still need to take off 60 more pounds and need to get back in the groove.



Leave a Reply

