h1

Press’n Seal

May 26, 2006

pnp2q.jpg

I am trying a new technique for auditioning quilting patterns on a quilt. I am using Glad Press’n Seal. The Press’n Seal is transparent so it is easy to see the quilt through it and it lightly sticks in place and leaves no visible residue when I remove it. (Visible being a key word here; I don’t know yet what will happen over time…)

pnp3q.jpg

I have been drawing on the Press’n Seal with a permanent marker usually at the drawing table and then move it to the quilt. I have also tried drawing right on the Press’n Seal on top of the quilt and the marker did not bleed through onto the quilt…just don’t draw off the edge!!!

pnp4q.jpg

It makes an easy way of making lots of different designs to audition and look at.

pnp5q.jpg


pnp6q.jpg

It is easy to make multiple copies of a design to see how the design works on adjacent blocks.

A mentor of mine has told me that I can make copies of the final design and use them to sew through while quilting. The pieces then just peel off. I haven’t tried that yet.

Has anyone else tried this method?

5 comments

  1. What fun! I’d be wary of stitching trough the ink-on-press-n-seal, though. Although I have ZERO personal experience, I’ve heard horror stories (from multiple sources) about thread/fabric picking up color from the ink. Probably it depends on the combination of type of pen, type and color of thread, etc …


  2. Oops, I also meant to add that I’ve used tracing paper and colored pencils to audition quilting designs and quilting thread colors.


  3. This is a great idea! I’ve used those overhead projector transparencies for this purpose, but I like how you can roll out the press and seal to different sizes. You are brilliant! You should send this in to Quilters Newsletter or something. (And I’m especially pleased to learn this as I have a quilt all basted and ready to quilt, with no clear idea of what I want to do on it. So now I can experiment.)


  4. Yes…I have used PnS to quilt with..Two serious cautions: One – use only a washable marker – like the kids Crayola markers – if you are going to sew thru it (I did have Sharpie and regular pen transfer to light colored thread…very discouraging) and Two – do NOT make small loops or intricate designs (like what you are showing on your samples)…you will spend the rest of your life with a tweezers trying to get the tiny little pieces of the PnS off… Other than that, its a very cool technique…I did put a whole layer of it down on a quilt, drew out what I wanted to quilt and went to it…
    For intricate designs I would use the washaway paper with a light spray basting to get it to stick…


  5. I know from personal experience of just using regular pencil on wash-away stabilizer, the pencil stayed in when the stabiler was washed away, leaving white threads gray. I would think the marker would dirty up your threads the same way.

    This might be 1/2 of a good idea. If you have a design that you want to repeat, you can audition it with the P&S, then layer it on top of stack wash-away stabilizer pieces & needle through it with long stitches, but no thread. You’ll have holes for your marks & won’t have to draw multiples & won’t need to worry about the marker coming off on the quilt.



Leave a Reply

