h1

JQC 2006 April

April 25, 2006

I don’t have a finished Journal Quilt Page to post for April šŸ˜¦

I was just merrily designing along and came up with this drawing of what I wanted to do. I was so excited about it and rolling along; chose the fabrics and drew up the templates. Then all came to a screeching halt.

There were almost 250 templates… for an 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece.

Many of the pieces were too small to even write placement numbers on them! So obviously this was to be a much larger piece.

I’m still excited about the idea but I have run out of time for JQC. So I will probably go back and simplify, big time, and have something for May. In the meantime, I’m also thinking about a larger version, maybe 17″ x 22″ ( in all my spare time!).

It is good to learn my limitations. Now, back to the drawing board!!

8 comments

  1. Oh! This will be WONDERFUL!!! Can’t wait to see it, in whatever size you decide to make it!


  2. What a great drawing. This will make a wonderful larger piece and I understand why you don’t have an April journal quilt. Some ideas just won’t work at this small size.


  3. It looks like you’ve been really busy. I think this design is wonderful, & I hope you do do it LARGE. Actually a really large wall hanging with those triangles divided into lats of smaller triangles with playing on values like you’ve done on the quilts below this post would be stunning.
    I think you should go for it! Good Luck!


  4. Lovely drawing, but I understand about the 250 pieces. (Yikes!) It’s going to be beautiful though.


  5. Oooh, yes I agree about doing it in a larger size. The design is great.


  6. Looking forward to seeing this done in a “massive, great big” size!


  7. I love it! It’s going to be awesome. It’s good that it’s put aside until you can make it what you want, though. We’ll all look forward to May…


  8. Great design! I hope you will be able to simplify it for the JQC because I think your theme is the best to make a serial and I have enjoyed them. And of course you should go for the bigger version, that will be a real challenge.



Leave a Reply

