h1

First Longarm Quilt

February 19, 2006

I finished my first quilt on the longarm! What fun! I used a pantograph called popcorn to quilt it.

The main thing that I learned from it is that the longarm is going to use a lot of muscles that I didn’t even realize I had. The machine is not so heavy or hard to push- I can push it with a couple fingertips- but I think it is just that I get so tense and try to hold still and move v-e-r-y– s-l-o-w-l-y. I’m hoping that as I get more comfortable with it, loosen up some and build up some muscles I won’t get so stiff and sore. But believe me, a few sore muscles are not going to stop me from starting the next quilt!

4 comments

  1. VERY AWESOME, Deb! I’m sure you will be muscle-bound with all the practice you’re going to get!!!! Are you going to hire out to do more later or is it just for you’re sole enjoyment?!
    Linda


  2. That looks really nice but it sounds like hard work. I’ve never done one or seen one done in person. Congratulations on getting the first (of many!) done.


  3. Looks great! Popcorn is a fun panto. Yep, just relax and take frequent breaks.

    Judy L.


  4. You’re doing great! Love that pattern. Rooting for that relaxation and muscle development and many gorgeous quilts.



Leave a Reply

