h1

Hearts for Valentines

January 17, 2006

I designed this project for a hand quilting class at a homeschool co-op starting in late January. I expected the students to be 4th and 5th graders so I tried to make this first project simple and quick to finish. It includes some piecing, some applique and a few embroidery stitches; the Running Stitch, the Blanket Stitch, the Lazy Daisy and Spider Web Rose. And I thought that it would make a good gift for the students to give away.

Well, I just found out that the students in the class are 7th through 9th grade… just a bit older than I expected. So now I need to decide if this is too simple…too juvenile… for these middle schoolers.

5 comments

  1. Oh, I don’t think so. I think they would probably enjoy it a lot. You could always show them ideas for more embellishments or turning it into a larger project. I miss doing co-ops with our homeschool group. I had a 5-9 yr old group I was doing projects with and wanted to do ~simple~ quilt project with them, but it never happened and then I had to step back for a while to be home more. We had a group learning knitting and they seemed to have SO much fun. One of these days, when my dd is older, I want to do a co-op for quilting. Have fun and let us know how it went.


  2. I think it is great to teach handwork for any age student – some will do fine with this – others will excel and you can encourage them further to add more detail to their piece…


  3. I know some grown up women who would do this pretty design, so I wouldn’t worry about it being “too young”. Jen


  4. No, I don’t think it is too juvenile at all. The design is lovely, and they should enjoy the process and the product.


  5. When I first saw the photo I thought it was something you were doing & thought it would be something I would like to do too!

    The older kids can always go further with the idea if it appeals.



Leave a Reply

